Volusia County School District Announces 2019 Teacher Of The Year Winner

By on January 15, 2018 in WNDB News

Volusia County, FL – Volusia County Schools have named a Citrus Grove Elementary School teacher the Teacher of the Year, and the school district gave seven other Volusia County teachers special recognition.

Nicole Grebosz, who teaches technology at Citrus Grove Elementary, will represent Volusia County Schools as the Teacher of the Year for 2019, according to a press release from Volusia County Schools. Grebosz will succeed 2018 Teacher of the Year Jason Kester, who teaches culinary arts at Maitland High School.

Grebosz has her bachelor’s and master’s degrees from Stetson University and began her teaching career with Volusia County Schools at her alma mater, Pine Ridge High, in 2006. She brought her expertise to Citrus Grove Elementary in 2015, where she now teaches K-5 students in the school’s new special area technology program. She has served as a member of several school leadership teams and has served on a Florida Department of Education committee to redesign course frameworks for Business Supervision.

(Grebosz’s photo courtesy Volusia County Schools)

Grebosz was honored at the Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort on Friday, and the announcement of her award was made at a celebration presented by Halifax Health and co-hosted by FUTURES Foundation and Volusia County Schools.

“The Teacher of the Year celebration is a time for FUTURES, its partners, and the community to recognize the excellent teachers we have in Volusia County,” Paula Gregory, FUTURES Foundation president says. “They have been chosen by their team members, at every school in the district. The energy and excitement you feel in the room is what they bring to their classrooms every day. We are very fortunate to have such talent in our community and I hope they know how much we appreciate them.”

Four other educators were recognized as finalists for Teacher of the Year, according to Volusia County Schools. The names of the finalists are as follows:

  • Christopher Gibbs, 2nd-grade teacher, Turie T. Small Elementary
  • William M. Lastowski, science teacher, University High
  • Beth Ann Provenzano, school counselor, Silver Sands Middle
  • Julie Wilson, AP Psychology and American Sign Language, Seabreeze High

Three other teachers received awards that represent the school district’s three guiding principles. The honorees are named below:

  • Lisa Nix, kindergarten teacher at Friendship Elementary – Guiding Principle #1, Dedication to Increased Student Achievement.
  • Tonya Knight, an academic coach at Campbell Middle – Guiding Principle #2, Commitment to Finding Solutions to Problems.
  • John Scrivano, English IV honors teacher at New Smyrna Beach High – Guiding Principle #3, Mutual Respect and Positive Relationships with all Stakeholders.

Copyright Southern Stone Communications 2018.


If you enjoyed this article, subscribe now to receive more just like it.

Comments are closed.