Previous DAYTONA 500 Winner’s Cars To Be Put On Display At The Speedway

By on February 14, 2018 in WNDB News

Daytona Beach, FL – Several previous DAYTONA 500 champion’s stock cars will be on display at Daytona International Speedway this race weekend.

On Saturday and Sunday, seven cars will be on display in two different locations within the speedway. Six will be on display in the FPL Solar Patio section of the infield at the UNOH Fanzone and one will be located inside the stadium near the Toyota Injector area. The car on display in the stadium will be the No. 11 FedEx Toyota driven by Denny Hamilin in 2016.

“The DAYTONA 500 is all about the moments and the memories that make history – for both competitors and fans,” Chip Wile, Daytona International Speedway President. “These are cars that have helped to define the DAYTONA 500 over the course of 60 years, driven to victory by some of NASCAR’s iconic stars. It’s a fantastic collection people are really going to enjoy.”

The cars on display and their DAYTONA 500 significance are listed below.

  • 2017 – No. 41 Haas Automation/Monster Energy Ford Fusion driven by Kurt Busch. Busch finished second three times before he won the DAYTONA 500 in 2017. During the 2017 race, his car started eighth in the field. The car has previously been on display at the speedway’s Ticket and Tours Building.
  • 2016 – No. 11 FedEx Toyota driven by Denny Hamlin. Hamlin made history after he beat Martin Truex Jr. by the closest margin in race history: .010 seconds. During the 2016 race, his car started 11th. Hamlin is lending the speedway the car from his own collection.
  • 2014 – No. 88 National Guard Chevrolet driven by Dale Earnhardt Jr. This car earned Earnhardt his second DAYTONA 500 win, 10 years after his first victory. During the 2014 race, Earnhardt’s car started ninth. Hendrick Motorsports loaned the speedway this car as well as two others for display.
  • 1997 – No. 24 DuPont Chevrolet Monte Carlo driven by Jeff Gordon. This car lead Gordon to his first of three DAYTONA 500 victories. The car’s “Rainbow Warriors” crew was named after the red, blue, and yellow paint scheme.
  • 1989 – No. 17 Tide Chevrolet Monte Carlo driven by Darrell Waltrip. Waltrip’s “Rolling Billboard” was nicknamed the “Tide Machine” due to its resemblance to a box of Tide detergent. The car gave him his only DAYTONA 500 win.
  • 1971 – No. 43 Southern Chrysler-Plymouth Road Runner driven by Richard Petty. With this car, Petty won the DAYTONA 500 for the third time. The Petty Museum loaned the speedway the car.
  • 1968 – No. 21 60 Minute Cleaners Mercury Cyclone driven by Cale Yarborough. With this car, Yarborough won the first of his four DAYTONA 500 wins. Yarborough qualified car on the pole with a speed of 189.222 mph, a record in 1968. A private individual loaned this replica, which has been verified as authentic by the Wood Brothers.

The 60th annual DAYTONA 500 is slated to begin at 3:05 PM on Sunday, February 18. For more information about the race, head to or call 1-800-PITSHOP.

Copyright Southern Stone Communications 2018.


If you enjoyed this article, subscribe now to receive more just like it.

Comments are closed.