Flagler County School District Announces Teacher & Employee Of The Year

By on January 14, 2018 in WNDB News

Flagler County, FL – At a gala on Thursday, Flagler County Schools announced this year’s recipients of the District Teacher and Employee of the Year awards.

Kate Sturman, a Rymfire Elementary School Teacher, was awarded District Teacher of the Year. Ariana Perez, who is employed with the Office of Student and Community Engagement and who represents the Government Services Building, was awarded District Employee of the Year.

Sturman has taught in Flagler County since 2005. She began her Flagler County Schools teaching career at Wadsworth Elementary. In 2006, she began teaching at Rymfire Elementary when the school first opened. Sturman teaches 5th grade English Language Arts and Social Studies and serves as a coach for the Future Problem Solvers and Community Problem Solvers.

“Kate is a cheerleader for Rymfire and for her students. Her dedication to the teaching profession is unquestioned. You’ll find her at practically every after-school activity,” said Rymfire principal, Barbara Sauvelpahkick.

“It means so much. You put in so much work, you work with the kids…it’s everything. Teaching is everything. It means so much,” said Sturman.

Perez, who graduated from Flagler Palm Coast High School in 2009, began her career with Flagler County Schools in 2013. She works in the District’s Office of Student and Community Engagement. Perez is working on completing a Bachelor’s Degree in Psychology.

“Ari is always focused on how she can help people get to where they need to get things accomplished, and she does it in a way that they feel they are being supported the entire time,” said Lynette Shott, Executive Director of Student and Community Engagement.

“This makes me want to grow more. Engage more, support more, mentor…everything,” said Perez.

“Both Kate and Ariana are wonderful representatives of Flagler Schools. They have found their purpose in life, and fortunately for Flagler Schools and our entire community, that purpose involves helping our students and families succeed,” said Flagler Schools Superintendent James Tager.

Sturman and Perez will now represent Flagler Schools at the statewide competition. The State Department of Education is set to announce the State Support Employee and Teacher of the year in the spring.

(From left to right: Dr. Earl Johnson, Exec Dir of Leadership; Dr. Maria Barbosa, School Board; Colleen Conklin, School Board; Kate Sturman, Teacher of the Year; Janet McDonald, School Board Vice-Chair; Trevor Tucker, School Board Chair; James Tager, Superintendent of Schools)

(From left to right: Dr. Earl Johnson; Dr. Maria Barbosa; Colleen Conklin; Ariana Perez, Employee of the Year; Janet McDonald; Trevor Tucker; James Tager)

Photos courtesy of Flagler County Schools.

Copyright Southern Stone Communications 2018.


If you enjoyed this article, subscribe now to receive more just like it.

Comments are closed.